In 1910, Captain Robert Scott prepared his crew for a trip that no one had ever completed: a journey to the South Pole. He vowed to get there any way he could, even if it meant looking death in the eye. Then, not long before he set out, another intrepid explorer, Roald Amundsen, set his sights on the same goal. Suddenly two teams were vying to be the first to make history—what was to be an expedition had become a perilous race. In 2018, Captain Louis Rudd readied himself for a similarly grueling task: the first solo crossing of treacherous Antarctica. But little did he know that athlete Colin O’Brady was training for the same trek—and he was determined to beat Louis to the finish line. For fans of Michael Tougias’ The Finest Hours and Deborah Heiligman’s Torpedoed, this gripping account of two history-making moments of exploration and competition is perfect for budding scientists, survivalists, and thrill seekers.

(9781250257802)

SKU 9781250257802
Author Name Rebecca E. F. Barone
Publisher Henry Holt and Co
Imprint Henry Holt (BYR)
Date Published 30/03/2021
Number of Pages 272
Audience Range Children's / Teenage
Genre Science & technology: general interest (Children's / Teenage)
Format Hardback

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Sequel Pty Ltd users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category